Comparison of operating systems and processors

Comparison of operating systems and processors in optimizing

Greetings!

After the introduction of the MT5 optimization and testing on real tick data, at times increased the computation time at optimization of experts. In this regard, I made for myself a small blade server 6 Intel-I7 processors and make it work as efficiently as possible, I decided to compare the performance of the optimization, depending on the operating system. Tested Windows 7 Pro, Windows 8.1 Pro, and Windows 2008 Server, Windows 2012. All settings are fresh, installed only the driver and iron terminal, ie, nothing extra.

So, in the blade server has 5 processors and Intel I7-6700T to Compare 1 processor I7-6700. All processors run in the turbo mode, the clock frequency I7-6700T = 3.4GHz, and I7-6700 = 3.7Ggts, i.e. a difference of about 8%. Motherboard same RAM – 8 GB Drives – SSD Kingston same speed.

1 of server computers – leading terminal run on it, which triggers optimization. On all other terminals are installed, but they do not run, because use only agents working as a hidden service. All computers are installed different OS (see the screenshots below), all set to priority work services running in the background.

expert – "heavy" multicurrency, are moving in the optimization of input variables that do not affect the result of the calculation, ie the number of transactions and calculations for all the different passes – exactly the same. So we’ll see the difference in speed of calculation depends only on the OS or processor type.

So the first test run. The first 10-15 minutes of all the processors say about the same rate:

Comparison of operating systems and processors

After a few more minutes, Win8 and Win7 with a more powerful processor I7-6700 stepped forward, and the others began to slow down:

Comparison of operating systems and processors

He compared the systems performance indicators and noticed that Win8 threw half of the memory cache.

Comparison of operating systems and processors

Other systems have not done so, and to make maximum use of RAM:

Comparison of operating systems and processors

It was concluded that Win8 optimally works with the memory, thereby computing the speed it up. After 8 hours gap in speed of computation become visible.

After that, for a better comparison of processors and I7-6700T I7-6700 I7-6700 in the system has been installed Win8 (003pc in the screenshot)

It was also suggested that for the terminals on other operating systems (not Win8) does not have enough memory. 16 GB of RAM was found in 2 of them Win7 and Win 2008. In addition, the network has been connected to 4 computers with different processors, for comparison.

So the beginning of the run, when the gap became evident:

Comparison of operating systems and processors

Win8 still ahead.

Additive memory Win 7 to 16 GB accelerated calculations but Win 8 c 8 GB running all the faster (84% vs. 90% for Win8). Oddly enough, but the memory of the additive in Win 2008 does not improve performance.

The fastest computationally 1 agent / flux turned I3 with Win8, but since from I7 – 8 threads in the end he will make more calculations in a single period of time.

I5-6500T on Win7 with 8GB (i.e., 2GB on stream) running around the assembly of I7 at Win7 with 16GB. But again, because from I7 – 8 threads in the end he will make more calculations in a single period of time.

One I7-6700T on Win7 with 8GB loaded half i.e. 4 a flow of 8, it runs at a speed approximately as Win8 1 stream, but it will make the sum of 2 times less computation.

10 hours see the following picture:

Comparison of operating systems and processors

Systems Win8 with 8GB RAM underwent 8-9 passages optimization, while in other systems 4.

Delivery of 16 GB per one of Win7 helped it to accelerate to 7 passes.

I3, I5 and I7-4790T of the network are connected via WiFi, but the WiFi sometimes fails (it is clear that the task given to them more than others), and on loss of communication are cut off calculation and start from scratch when you restore communication.

I7-6700T I7-6700 and about 8% to differ, as can be seen from the fact that I7-6700T performed for 7 – 8 optimization passages and I7-6700 8 – 9 passes over the same time. So it is better to use a wired network.

As a result, comparing OS, get all things being equal:

Win7, Win 2008, Win 2012 c 8GB of RAM made by 4 passes

Win 8 c 8 GB of RAM made 7 – 8 passes over the same time. It seems that – due to the reset of the RAM cache.

The difference in the two times is very unexpected, thought will calculate a few percent, and then just 100%. For myself, I decided to completely switch to Win 8 for computers that carry out optimization.

You can carry out a similar experiment to compare with my results. If they are reproducible, it could be recommended to anyone to use it to optimize Win8. Perhaps there is a way to make other operating systems behave like Win8, ie reset the memory to the cache. But because I’m not special in the OS, I do not know how to do it. Maybe someone from the readers will help in this.

In addition, a comparison made c Win 10 Pro. It works with the same efficiency as Win 8. Here’s a screenshot:

Comparison of operating systems and processors

Related posts

Next posts

Leave a comment